Local Businesses & Leaders Honored with Nomination for Annual Awards

Taking time to connect and celebrate is important. Creating connections by taking a moment to get to know your neighbor and share meaningful stories creates a sense of community. The Annual Celebration, hosted by the Ord Area Chamber of Commerce, Valley County Economic Development (VCED) and Valley County Community Foundation Fund (VCCFF), will create that experience of connection for community members, business owners, volunteers and youth and provide the opportunity to celebrate the great people and places of Valley County.

The Annual Celebration will take place Friday, April 24, 2015 at the Valley Theater in downtown Ord. The Celebration will include endless opportunities for connection during the social gathering, beginning at 6:30 pm, with appetizers and WYHFHcash bar provided by Sandstone Grill. The annual awards ceremony will begin at 7:15 pm followed by live entertainment by Susan Werner with Trina Hamlin and Natalia Zukerman. Werner’s Hayseed album pays tribute to American agriculture and her farm roots and has been commissioned by the University of Nebraska’s Lied Center for Performing Arts as part of the Arts Across Nebraska program.

The following nominees have been selected for awards presented by the Ord Area Chamber of Commerce which honor the deserving nominees that have made a significant impact in our local business community. Nominations and voting were submitted by members of the Chamber of Commerce and sponsors of Valley County Economic Development.

Partner in Progress
Ann Johnson
Dale & Janie Zadina
Dorothy Andreesen
Gaylord Boilesen
Kimberly Mundt
Michelle Weber
Scratchtown Brewing Company
Teresa Lange & Cindy Struckman

Rising Star
Ace Hardware
CinTrese Boutique
Shelter Insurance – Matt Woodward
Misko Sports
The Ord Quiz

Interactive Media and/or Website
Hackel Construction
JR Creative Media
KM Interiors
Misko Sports
Normal Roasting Company
Ord Housing Authority
Quiz Graphic Arts
Wolf, Inc.

Valley County Economic Development will be presenting awards honoring individuals, businesses and community projects that have contributed to the greater good of our community. Nominations and voting were submitted by VCED sponsors and Chamber members.

Silver Citizen
A.J. Cetak
Chuck & Carrie Zangger
Dan Spilinek
Gaylord Boilesen
Janie Zadina
Marg Golus
Marty Petska
Mike Blaha
Paul Markowski
Pat Waldmann
Phyllis Clement

Community Development & Improvement
City of Ord Utilities Department
Loup Valley Ag Society
Ord Pool Project
SynoVation Valley Leadership Academy
The Big Give to Valley County
Valley County Home & Ag Expo
VCHS Hospice Program.

Excellence in Agribusiness
Country Partners Cooperative
Elyria Gardens
GC Contracting – Grant Calleroz
Gene’s Electric
Jim Lech
Lange Welding
Loup Valley Ag Society
Oak Ridge Farm Hydroponics
Simply Sunflower – Al Koelling
Zangger family.

The Valley County Community Foundation Fund will also be presenting awards honoring philanthropic impacts within Valley County. VCCFF donors and partners had the opportunity to submit nominations and will be casting the final vote.

Outstanding Public Service
Community Food Pantry
Diane Kaslon
Jason Moudry
Jodi Sell
Ord Public Schools
Phillip & Bobbie Hill
Rich Klimek
Valley County Ministerial Association

Exceptional Young Citizen
A.I.M. group from Arcadia Public Schools
Amanda Baker
Dalton Davis – Ord FBLA
Molli Hagge
Shelby Kittle

Dynamic Youth Community Leader
Crystal Ramm
Gabe Altieri
Kasi Bodyfield
Noah Piskorski.

High Impact Organization
Central Nebraska Farm Safety 4 Just Kids
Helping Hands
Heartland Youth Ranch
Ord Rural Volunteer Fire Department
Ord Township Library
SynoVation Valley Leadership Academy
Valley County Economic Development
Valley County Philanthropic Partners (VCPP)

It is a great honor to be nominated for these awards. The authentic passion and leadership exhibited by all of the nominees is what creates a dynamic and progressive community that we all call home. Community members are invited to be a part of the Annual Celebration on April 24th. Tickets are available at the Chamber/VCED/VCCFF office (1514 K Street, Ord). We look forward to celebrating with you!


Leave a Reply