Local Individuals, Businesses, and Organizations Nominated for Chamber Awards

The Annual Ord Area Chamber of Commerce and Valley County Economic Development Banquet is just around the corner.  In conjunction with this year’s theme of “Vision Valley County,” the Chamber of Commerce will be presenting eight awards to individuals and Chamber businesses that have shown remarkable leadership, goodwill, and commitment to our community.  Throughout the past few weeks, Chamber businesses submitted their nominations and voted online.  The nominees for each category are as follows:

ExtraORDinary Citizen:
This individual has made notable contributions to the community through public service, leadership, their ability to effectively work with others, and/or entrepreneurial efforts throughout the year 2011.  This nominee (or their business/organization) must be a Chamber member. 

Alan Gabriel
Becky Ries
Dahn Hagge
Dale Zadina
Danielle Proskocil
Guy & Jennifer Lewis
Heather Sikyta
Janie Zadina
Kayla Hinrichs
Mark Hagge
Megan Cargill
Russ Blaha
Sally Domeier

Silver Citizen Award:
This individual is at least 50 years old, has made notable contributions, and shown outstanding public service to the Ord area over the past 25 years.  Chamber membership is not a requirement.

Butch Koehlmoos
Dale Zadina
DiAnne Hughes
Dr. Bernie Keown
Eulalia Edwards
Frank Smedra
Gaylord Boilesen
Mary Molle
Paul Markowski
Ray Scott
Rich Klimek
Steve Wolf
Walt Smith

ExtraORDinary Young Citizen:
This individual is 18 years old or younger and has made notable contributions to their school and community.  Chamber membership is not a requirement.  

Bryant Els
Devin Cronk
Johnny Ference
Katie Peterson
Melani Hagge
Ord High School Drama Team – Cast & Crew

Partner in Progress:
This individual has donated their time to help with Chamber projects and activities.  They provide valuable input and are active participants in Chamber efforts.  This nominee (or their business/organization) must be a Chamber member. 

Ashley Woodward
Dahn Hagge
Heather Sikyta
Kiley White/Grocery Kart
Laura Pokorny
Mark Hagge
Megan Cargill
Sue Blaha

Rising Star Award:
This award is to recognize a business that has been established within the past five years.  This could also include a business that has pursued a new venture within this time period.  They contribute to the community and actively participate in the Chamber.  This business must be a Chamber member.

Agland Electric & Irrigation
Misko Sports/Clay & Jennifer Ramsey
Scott’s TV
Technology 1st
Valley Fire Pottery
Wray Insurance Agency

ExtraORDinary Organization:
This organization (non-profit or not-for-profit) has demonstrated good stewardship of dollars and exhibits community impact and involvement.  This organization must be a member of the Chamber. 

FBLA – Jennifer Remmereid
Loup Valley Ag Society
Loup Valley Jaycees
Make Christmas Happen – Plain Valley Extension Club
Ord Rotary
Second Hand Rose
St. John Lutheran Church & Bethany Lutheran Church
Valley County Community Foundation Fund
Valley County Health System
Veteran’s Club

Community Development & Improvement Award:
This award is to recognize a project that has helped to improve the Ord area and/or benefited Ord area residents.  Please indicate the individual or organization responsible for the success of the project.  Chamber membership is not a requirement.

Good Beginnings
New Neighborhoods/Rolling Hills Townhomes
Ord Car Club
Ord High School Addition & Renovation
Ord Volunteer Fire Department
Vision Valley County

Interactive Media and/or Website Development Award:
This award is to recognize a business that has taken on the challenges of creating an interactive website(s) or social media site(s) to improve their business.  This business must be a Chamber member.

Family Resources –
Ord Public Schools –
Ord Township Library –
Sports Shed –
Valley County Health System –
Wolf Auction & Real Estate –

All nominees are very deserving of these awards.  Winners will be announced at the banquet on Saturday, February 25 at the Ord Veteran’s Club.  Social hour will begin at 6:00 pm and dinner and awards will begin at 7:00 pm.  This year’s guest speaker is Aaron Davis, motivational speaker and member of the 1994 National Championship Husker Football team.  Tickets are $30 per person or $50.00 per couple.  Corporate tables, which seat six, are also available for $200.  You can purchase your tickets from the Ord Area Chamber of Commerce, 1514 K Street, or from any Chamber or Economic Development board member.

Leave a Reply